Jimmie Pigg Memorial Scholarship

Each year at the Spring business meeting of the Southern Division of the American Fisheries Society (SDAFS), the Warmwater Streams Committee (WWSC) awards one graduate student the Jimmie Pigg Memorial Scholarship. The award was named posthumously for Jimmie Pigg who was a long time fisheries biologist with the Oklahoma Dept. of Wildlife Conservation. Jimmy was well known for providing students money out of his own pocket so that they could travel to American Fisheries Society meetings to present their research findings. Because of his ardent support for student travel and his commitment to their development as fisheries scientists, the award named for him is one of the most prized and meaningful awards in the fisheries field. Judges are selected by the Chair and are members of the WWSC.  The winner receives a plaque, $500, and a one-year student membership to the American Fisheries Society. Applications for the Jimmie Pigg Award are due by December 21, and the winner is announced at the Spring business meeting of SDAFS the following calendar year. To access the application, click the following link:

Jimmie Pigg Memorial Scholarship Application

If you would like to donate to the Jimmy Pigg Memorial Outstanding Student Achievement Award, please click here to donate funds using Paypal.


**Congratulations to Matthew Acre, winner of the 2018 Jimmie Pigg Award**

Matthew is from Texas Tech University and is under the direction of Dr. Tim Grabowski. His graduate research is titled Assessing the effects of flow regime variation on Blue Sucker spawning movements, habitat use, and recruitment in the lower Colorado River.