2024 TCAFS Meeting Home Page

The 2024 annual meeting of the Texas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society will be held at the Fredonia Hotel in Nacodoches, TX from February 22-24th, 2024.

(Photo from Countylinemagazine.com, 2020)


We are still in the process of finalizing room rates for the conference and will update this section once registration opens. In the meantime, if you would like to learn more about the conference hotel, please check out their website: https://www.thefredonia.com/room-suites


The 2022 and 2023 meetings saw a record number of abstract submissions; an admirable representation of how productive the Texas Chapter is in promoting fisheries science. In order to maximize the number of oral presentations that may be presented, we will be running two concurrent oral sessions. This will also allow oral presentations to be expanded to 15 minutes for the talk, 3 for questions, and 2 for movement between rooms.

Abstracts for oral and poster presentations will be due December 15, 2023. Deadlines this year will be firm, and no extensions will be given. Authors will be notified of abstract acceptance by January 19, 2024.

Don’t wait for the Fall to slip by and start your abstracts now! As a reminder, abstracts should be less than 300 words, and you will need the names and affiliations of each author on the paper. With the concurrent format, you will be able to request that your presentation be given in the same room and time block as related research. Please be prepared to provide the speaker and title of other presentations when you submit your abstract. We will do our best to accommodate such requests when possible.

Submission URL:  Submit Abstract HERE

For additional questions, email Kelley Kowal (kelley.kowal@tpwd.texas.gov).

We’re looking forward to seeing everyone in Nacogdoches!

Kelley Kowal
Editorial Committee



APPLICATION Packet: TCAFS 2024 scholarship application

The Texas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society (TCAFS) is seeking deserving students enrolled in fisheries-related curricula in the State of Texas.

Scholarships in the amount of $1,500 each may be awarded to a minimum of two undergraduate students, one Master’s student, and one Ph.D. student. One student will be awarded the prestigious Clark Hubbs Scholarship for research that continues his legacy of native fish conservation. 
One student will be awarded the Dave Terre Scholarship which honors his history of contributions to fisheries and to TCAFS.

Applicants must be current students at the time of scholarship award (February 2024). Students are eligible to receive one award in each degree category during their scholastic career. No nomination is necessary, and more than one student from the same university may apply in each category. Scholarships will be awarded during the 2024 Texas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society Annual Meeting to be held February 21-24, 2024, in Nacogdoches, TX. Scholarship recipients should plan to attend the meeting to receive their award.

Scholarship recipients will be selected based on their academic excellence, professional activities, promise of future professional involvement, and contributions to the field of fisheries science.

Applications must be received by Sunday, November 12, 2023, 11:59PM CST. A .docx and PDF of the application may be obtained from the HERE. Applications may be submitted as a .docx or PDF by email to Jennifer.Butler@tpwd.texas.gov.

Please direct applications and questions to:
Jennifer Butler – Scholarship Committee Chair
(979) 292-0100 ext. 225 or text (832) 444-4122



Once again, we are asking that you acknowledge your peers who may be deserving of the Outstanding Fisheries Worker of the Year (OFW) Award! This award recognizes fisheries-related work accomplished in Texas, which can span more than one year, in the following categories: Fisheries Administration, Fish Culture, Fisheries Education, Fisheries Management, Fisheries Research, Fisheries Technical Support, Fisheries Student, and Special Recognition in Fisheries Work.

Nominations can only be made by TCAFS members, and the nominee must also be a member. However, the exception to this is for the category of Special Recognition in Fisheries Work where only the one who submits the nomination must be a TCAFS member. This Special Recognition award can be for an individual or organization.

The nominees for each category may meet one or more of the requirements found on our website.

Nominations are due on December 1, 2023. To submit a nomination, please fill out the nomination form, in its entirety, and email it to me at bsilvy@tamu.edu.