News

Conferences

Deadline Extensions for AFS Best Student Presentation/Poster Awards

Worried you or your student missed the deadline to submit for the AFS Best Student Presentation/Poster Award at the Baltimore meeting? There’s still time! High school, undergraduate, or graduate students who have recently completed research can still be considered for AFS Best Student Presentation or Poster Awards for 2021, but applications are only open for... Read More

AFS Genetic Section Annual Business Meeting

Dear AFS Genetics Section members, The AFS Genetics Section will hold the annual business meeting on 24-August-2021 @ 6:00-7:00 pm CDT. For those of you that are time-zone challenged like me: Eastern Time Zone: 7:00-8:00 pm EDT Central Time Zone: 6:00-7:00 pm CDT Mountain Time Zone: 5:00-6:00 pm MDT Pacific Time Zone: 4:00-5:00 pm PDT... Read More

AFS Annual Meeting in Baltimore – Registration Open

AFS Genetics Section members Registration is now open for the AFS Annual Meeting in Baltimore! The AFS Leadership and the local committee are positive about the potential safe and productive in-person conference, but there are also options to participate remotely and virtual presentations. The abstract submission has been extended to 16 August 2021 (Submit Abstract... Read More

Now Accepting Applications for the 2021 James Wright Award

Hi, all! On behalf of the AFS Genetics Section, we are now accepting applications for the James Wright Award, a graduate student travel award that provides funds to participate in the annual AFS meeting. AFS will be offering a hybrid meeting this November, with some attendees participating virtually and others participating in person. The Genetics... Read More

Updated Symposia Due Dates for National Meeting

Hello AFS Genetics Section Members, The deadline for symposia proposals for the AFS 151st annual meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, has been extended again to March 11th. Please let us know if you have or will submit a fish-genetics themed symposium proposal. As a reminder, the meeting is planned as a hybrid event with flexible in-person... Read More

Updated Symposia Due Dates for National Meeting

Hello AFS Genetics Section Members I wanted to send out a reminder that proposals for symposia are now being accepted for the AFS 151st annual meeting in Baltimore, Maryland. The deadline for proposal submission has been extended to February 26th. The meeting is planned as a hybrid event with flexible in-person and virtual attendance and... Read More

AFS 2021 Call for Symposia

Hello AFS Genetics Section Members, I wanted to send out a reminder that proposals for symposia are now being accepted for the AFS 151st annual meeting in Baltimore, Maryland. The meeting is planned as a hybrid event with flexible in-person and virtual attendance and presentations options. The deadline for proposal submission is January 25th. We... Read More