News

AFS Genetics Section Early Career Award 2022 Call for Nominations

The AFS Genetics Section Early Career Award committee is soliciting nominations for our 2022 award. Details may be found in the PDF announcement or on the Early Career Award webpage. Nominations are due 15 July 2022 to the award committee. Please contact Craig Stockwell Craig Stockwell, Emily Lescak, Kerry Reid, or Trevor Krabbenhoft with any... Read More

Announcing an AFS Genetics Section Postdoc Travel Award

The Genetics Section Ex Comm would like to again make travel funding available for postdocs looking to attend the 2022 AFS meeting in Spokane 21-25 August 2022. Several awards will be made, with $500 given for in person attendance and $300 for virtual attendance (cost of virtual attendance for early career professionals). Please indicate if... Read More

Deadline Extensions for AFS Best Student Presentation/Poster Awards

Worried you or your student missed the deadline to submit for the AFS Best Student Presentation/Poster Award at the Baltimore meeting? There’s still time! High school, undergraduate, or graduate students who have recently completed research can still be considered for AFS Best Student Presentation or Poster Awards for 2021, but applications are only open for... Read More

AFS Genetic Section Annual Business Meeting

Dear AFS Genetics Section members, The AFS Genetics Section will hold the annual business meeting on 24-August-2021 @ 6:00-7:00 pm CDT. For those of you that are time-zone challenged like me: Eastern Time Zone: 7:00-8:00 pm EDT Central Time Zone: 6:00-7:00 pm CDT Mountain Time Zone: 5:00-6:00 pm MDT Pacific Time Zone: 4:00-5:00 pm PDT... Read More

AFS Annual Meeting in Baltimore – Registration Open

AFS Genetics Section members Registration is now open for the AFS Annual Meeting in Baltimore! The AFS Leadership and the local committee are positive about the potential safe and productive in-person conference, but there are also options to participate remotely and virtual presentations. The abstract submission has been extended to 16 August 2021 (Submit Abstract... Read More

Now Accepting Applications for the 2021 James Wright Award

Hi, all! On behalf of the AFS Genetics Section, we are now accepting applications for the James Wright Award, a graduate student travel award that provides funds to participate in the annual AFS meeting. AFS will be offering a hybrid meeting this November, with some attendees participating virtually and others participating in person. The Genetics... Read More