Fish Passage Conference Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) maintains continuity in the format and content of the International Fish Passage Conference from one year to the next.  The committee issues the Request for Proposals (RFPs) to host the conference, selects the conference location, and delegates authority for operating the conference to the local host and the Organizing Committee.  The SC is a freestanding committee with a minimum of six and a maximum of eight members that includes former local hosts and representatives from the Joint Committee.


The Steering Committee meets by conference call roughly four times per year or as needed. The SC also meets at the International Fish Passage Conference if a quorum is present.

Steering Committee Members

Laura Wildman, Chair – Save the Sound
Elsa Goerig, Secretary – Harvard University
Lee Baumgartner – Charles Sturt University
Jon Bolland – University of Hull
Ted Castro-Santos – USGS EESC S.O. Conte Research Laboratory
Paul Kemp – University of Southampton
Kevin Mulligan – USGS EESC S.O. Conte Research Laboratory
Xiaotao Shi – China Three Gorges University


Organizational Chart showing the lines of authority for the Joint Committee, Steering Committee, and lines of authority for future conferences in the Fish Passage Series.