International Fisheries Prize

The International Fisheries Science Prize honors an organization or individual for their contribution to global fisheries science or conservation and is presented once every four years at the meeting of the World Fisheries Congress.  The Prize Selection Committee is organized by the International Fisheries Section of AFS and is funded by the World Fisheries Congress.

The nominations to this Prize have no restrictions and all countries are encouraged to apply. The nominations must be made by individuals who belong to the World Council of Fisheries’ Societies and should include at least three reference letters.

Selection criteria include: Candidate’s achievements, Curriculum vitae, References, and an overall achievement and contribution evaluation.

2020 – Dr. Katsumi Tsukamoto, Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, University of Tokyo, Japan
2016 – Dr. Ray Hilborn, School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences at University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA
2012 – Dr. Ian Cowx, Hull International Fisheries Institute at The University of Hull, UK
2008 – Dr. Kurt D. Fausch, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA